The Class of 2002 Fellowship in Conflict Resolution

As its graduation gift to Stanford Law School, the Class of 2002 with support from SLS alumni created The Class of 2002 Fellowship in Conflict Resolution. With the help of matching alumni supporters the class raised $20,000 to fund conflict resolution projects proposed by Stanford Law students pursuing academic research or hands-on fieldwork.

The program is currently not accepting fellowships applications.

Advisory Board

Serena Alvarez, Member, Class of 2002
Andrew Garth, Member, Class of 2002
Cathy Glaze, Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Barbara Merz, Co-President, Class of 2002
Janet Martinez, Director of Stanford’s Negotiation and Mediation Program
Kevin Smith, Treasurer, Class of 2002

Previous Fellowship Recipients

2006 Recipients

  • Amichai Magen delivered a paper to the European Union’s (EU) executive body on the European Neighborhood Policy to promote democratic and economic reforms in the countries now surrounding the Union including Tunisia, Morocco, Egypt, Jordan, Syria, Palestine, Armenia, Georgia, and Ukraine.
  • Adam Rachlis conducted a collaborative project on rule of law and economic development, with a special focus on the legal aspects of doing business in China.
  • Tehila Sagy continued her fieldwork on dispute resolution in refugee camps which she began last year.
  • Brian Shilling law attended a conference on Common Property and Conservation of Wild/ Working Landscapes, an area where conflict resolution was becoming increasingly widespread.

2005 Recipients

  • Kaush Arha researched the various impacts of World Trade Organization (WTO) Panel decisions on agricultural trade negotiations.
  • Peter Koski continued his ethnographic research on ‘barefoot’ lawyering, creating a grass roots legal infrastructure in villages, in Gujarat, India.
  • Tehila Sagy studied mechanisms for civil and criminal conflict resolution employed by refugees in a Buduburam refugee camp, including interviews with refugee men and women, community leaders, and UNHCR personnel.
  • Ryan M. Scoville was funded on recommendation of the Selection Panel through the Dean’s Office to deliver his paper, “Political Opportunity Structure: A Supplemental Framework for Evaluating and Constructing Military Base Agreements,” at the Yale Journal of International Law’s Young Scholars’ Conference.

2004 Recipients

  • Anna Adeola Makanju analyzed the impact of international criminal tribunals on nations in conflict to assess the likely impact of ICC indictments in the future.
  • Jordi Agusti-Panareda studied intercultural mediations managing immigration related cross-cultural conflict in Catalonia, Spain.
  • Deji Olukotun continued his research with the Navajo Peacemaker Court in the restorative justice paradigm.
  • Chris Walker implemented a Conflict Resolution exercise he created to better equip high-school leaders with basic negotiation skills.

2003 Recipients

  • Manuel Gomez collected and analyzed empirical survey data about the use of different conflict resolution mechanisms for resolving corporate disputes.
  • Peter Lamb studied the negotiation and dispute settlement issues raised by the distressed Dabhol Power Project in India, a subject of critical importance to current international infrastructure development and energy policy.
  • Elizabeth Muli wrote and presented a paper evaluating truth commissions as conflict management systems, with particular focus on understanding the management of identity-based conflicts.
  • Mike Woodhouse studied the principles of path dependence in multilateral negotiations.