New Dean Search Committee Announced

Following the March announcement that Dean Larry Kramer is resigning to assume the presidency of The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation on September 1, Stanford Provost John Etchemendy has appointed a committee to advise him in selecting a new dean for Stanford Law School.

Professor Mark Kelman is chairing the committee, which also includes Rick Banks, Juliet Brodie, Dan Ho, Pam Karlan, and Mark Lemley from SLS faculty, Teddy Kider (3L, Stanford Law School), Stephanie Kalfayan (Vice Provost for Academic Affairs), alumna Michelle Galloway and Jack Rakove (Professor of History and Political Science).

The search committee does not select the new dean; it will assess potential candidates and present the President and Provost of the University with an unranked list of plausible candidates. The committee will consider internal candidates and will also conduct an outside search. The President and Provost will make the final decision about the next dean of Stanford Law School.

The search committee will not communicate broadly about the progress of its work; in fact, to protect confidentiality, it may not be in touch again until later in the process. However, the search committee welcomes suggestions, not only about individual candidates, but also about concerns and hopes for the school going forward and about important traits for the next dean. Input from all the members of the SLS community—faculty, staff, students and alumni—is valued. Contact the committee by writing to