Professor Dan Reicher Named To The Secretary of Energy Advisory Board


Publish Date:
August 26, 2013
  • Stanford Law School
Stanford Law School
Related Person(s):
Related Organization(s):


Professor Dan Reicher Named To The Secretary of Energy Advisory Board

Dan Reicher, professor of the practice of law and executive director of Stanford University’s Steyer-Taylor Center for Energy Policy and Finance, was appointed to the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB), the U.S. Department of Energy announced on Monday.

Reicher is one of nineteen members comprised of scientists, business executives, academics and former government officials named to the board who will serve as an independent advisory committee to Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz.

“These individuals represent some of the best and brightest in their respective fields and it is a great privilege that they have agreed to offer their expertise to the Energy Department,” said Secretary Moniz. “Having a diverse set of voices around the table will ensure that the Department has a strategic approach to the nation’s energy, science, nuclear security, and environmental stewardship future.”

Reicher brings more than 25 years of experience in energy and environmental policy, finance, and technology to the board. He came to Stanford from Google in 2011 to launch the Steyer-Taylor Center for Energy Policy and Finance and was named one of the five most influential figures in U.S. clean energy by Oilprice.Com in 2012.  He has served three Presidents including in the Clinton administration as Assistant Secretary of Energy for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy and Department of Energy Chief of Staff, as a member of President Obama’s Transition Team and Co-chair of the Energy and Environment Team for Obama, and as a staff member of President Carter’s Commission on the Accident at Three Mile Island. In addition, Reicher currently is Senior Advisor to the Atlantic Wind Connection, a project backed by Google and other investors to build an underwater transmission line for offshore wind power and grid reliability along the US east coast. He is also a member of the National Academy of Sciences Board on Energy and Environmental Systems, and co-chairman of the Board of the American Council on Renewable Energy.