Graduation 2008

Stanford Law School held its graduation ceremony on May 4, with more than 1,500 family members and friends filling Memorial Auditorium for the Sunday morning celebration. Participating in the ceremony were 176 JD candidates, 38 Master’s of Law candidates, and three candidates for the degree of Doctor of the Science of Law.

Speaking at the ceremony were Dean Larry Kramer and Professor Joseph Bankman, the winner of this year’s John Bingham Hurlbut Award for Excellence and selected to deliver the keynote address by the graduating class. Also honored was custodial staff member Evelia Ramirez, who was recognized with the Staff Appreciation Award.

Chinwuba Onyedikachi “Onye” Ikwuakor, co-president of the graduating class chosen to speak by vote of his peers, spoke of a future that he and his classmates would shape together.

“We’ll all take the same JD,” he said. “But with different pasts and different futures we will make that JD into a thousand different things, a thousand different admission tickets to a thousand different careers.”