Graduation 2010

Stanford Law School held its graduation ceremony June 12 in Canfield Courtyard, with more than 1,500 family members and friends on hand for the Saturday afternoon celebration. Participating in the ceremony were 168 JD candidates, 22 Master of Laws candidates, and 8 candidates for the degree of Doctor of the Science of Law.

Dean Larry Kramer delivered the traditional charge to the class, and Professor Daniel E. Ho, the winner of this year’s John Bingham Hurlbut Award for Excellence in Teaching, was chosen by the graduating class to deliver the keynote address. The Class of 2010 also honored classmate Scott Schaeffer with the 2010 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Service and Francisco Molina with the 2010 Staff Appreciation Award.

The class selected fellow classmate Alvaro Moises Huerta to give the student remarks during the ceremony, in which he thanked the law school faculty and staff as well as his classmates, friends, and family for their support during the past three years. Huerta also encouraged the Class of 2010 to use their legal skills to give back to the community.

“We are graduating from SLS; the doors of opportunity are wide open for us,” said Huerta. “Sure we all worked hard and struggled to get to where we are today. But now that we are here, we have to recognize just how privileged we truly are. And because of this privilege, we owe it to those who have not had the same opportunities—often because they have been denied those opportunities—to give back.”