SLS Professors Elected to American Law Institute

SLS Professors Elected to American Law Institute
Nora and David Freeman Engstrom have been elected to the American Law Institute.

The American Law Institute announced on June 28 that Stanford Law School Professors Nora Freeman Engstrom and David Freeman Engstrom have been elected as new members of the Institute. They are among 41 newly elected members from 16 states and the District of Columbia.

ALI members are highly regarded judges, lawyers and law professors who are confidentially nominated by their peers, vetted by ALI’s Membership Committee and elected by the ALI Council.

Nora Freeman Engstrom is a professor of law and the Deane F. Johnson Faculty Scholar at Stanford Law School (SLS). Her scholarship lies at the intersection of tort law and professional ethics. Her current work explores the day-to-day operation of the tort system, and particularly the tort system’s interaction with alternative compensation mechanisms, such as workers’ compensation and no-fault automobile insurance. She has also written extensively on high-volume personal injury law practices that heavily advertise and mass-produce the resolution of claims, and she is the co-author of a leading legal ethics casebook.

David Freeman Engstrom is a professor of law and the Bernard D. Bergreen Faculty Scholar. His teaching and writing focus on the institutional design of litigation and regulatory regimes, as well as topics in administrative law, civil procedure, constitutional law and civil rights. An expert in data analysis, his scholarship has been cited in dozens of federal and state court decisions and briefs. Recent projects include the first large-scale empirical investigation of qui tam litigation under the False Claims Act.  Current work includes a book on the evolution of American job discrimination law.