The Bright Award

The Bright Award was created by a gift from Raymond E. Bright, Jr., JD ’59 in 2007 on behalf of his late wife, Marcelle, and himself. Mr. Bright died in 2011. Under the terms of his gift, the Bright Award is given annually to an “individual who has made significant contributions in the environmental preservation and sustainability area” and is awarded to an individual from one of ten rotating regions. The regions the winners have been chosen from since the award’s inception are: South Asia, the Middle East; West Asia; Africa; Europe; South America; and North America.

The nomination committee is led by Barton H. Thompson, Jr., Robert E. Paradise Professor in Natural Resources Law, Stanford Law School, and former Perry L. McCarty Director & Senior Fellow, Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment. The nomination committee is comprised of Stanford Law School faculty members, law students and others on campus, with assistance from consultants focused on designated regions of the world, and will recommend potential candidates each year. The Dean of Stanford Law School will select the final award recipient. An Advisory Committee, consisting of Michael Bright, George Bright, and Alan Markle, helps oversee the Bright Award and also provides guidance in the selection of the recipient. The award winner delivers a public lecture at Stanford University. 2013 was the inaugural year of the award.

The Stanford Bright Award for Environmental Sustainability Honoring Anderson Jean

Thursday, October 27
5:00 – 7:00 pm PST
Paul Brest Hall, Stanford University

Bright Award winner Anderson Jean will be honored with an award presentation followed by a panel discussion that will be moderated by Greg Dalton, host of the Climate One podcast.

RSVP for the event

2022 Bright Award
Haiti Biodiversity Conservationist Wins 2022 Stanford Bright Award

2022 Bright Award Winner

Anderson Jean

Founder, Action pour la Sauvegarde de l’Écologie en Haiti


Read the Press Release

The Bright Idea Podcast

The Bright Idea is a Stanford Law School podcast that highlights some of the most promising and inspirational work around the world in sustainability and conservation. Professor Buzz Thompson begins this series by talking to some of the past winners of Stanford Law School’s Bright Award. The Bright Award is an annual environmental award given to individuals who have dedicated their careers to improving sustainability and conservation. It is the only award like it in the world, and it is the highest environmental prize given by Stanford University. Stanford Law School Alumnus, Ray Bright, established the Bright Award with the goal of recognizing the winners’ prior sustainability work and supporting and extending that work into the future.

Listen to the Podcast

Bright Idea Podcast 1